Perks of having a Car…

car

On the day of my 16th birthday, I couldn’t wait to get my drivers license. I had already had my permit for 6 months so all I needed to do was apply for my behind-the-wheel driving test. On the day of my test, I was extremely nervous because I really did not want to fail. But before my test, my dad gave me good advice by telling me to “Just Drive.” The driving test was that easy, all I had to do was relax, pay attention, and just drive. I am proud to say I only missed 5 errors and passed my first try.

A months after I got my license, I was surprised to come home to a brand-new 2014 Nissan Sentra. I was very grateful because not many teens my age get a brand-new car. However, having a new car meant new responsibilities. I now have to start paying for gas, pay attention while driving, and now many lives including mine are in the palm of my hands.

However, a new car also meant many new advantages. I am now able to drive myself to school and no longer have to rely on my parents to pick me up. I also get to go anywhere I want as long as I am home by 9:00 PM. Driving also allows me to be that cool kid that gets to give people rides if they need it. Honestly, many people view driving as a chore, I have yet to feel that way. I enjoy driving because it gives me time to relax and listen to my own music and gives me a whole new freedom.

Leave a Reply

